fb

Emilie Bilodeau is an 2005 RAC grad (Recording Arts Canada) in sound and music recording. She is currently working at CBC/Radio Canada as an audio engineer for live transmissions and productions for the network. She found this job immediately after graduating from RAC, and shares with us details of her journey, challenges she’s encountered and her dreams.

What was your background in music, education and work prior to enrolling at RAC?
I started playing flute in high school. After high school I enrolled at Drummondville College’s classical music program and majored in flute and voice. I participated in a number of concerts and recorded my first little music demo as a musician during that time. After college I enrolled at RAC with absolutely zero recording studio experience and no real knowledge of the process of recording or the technology.

Can you describe your journey over the last couple of years and the role RAC has played in your life?
First, I want to thank RAC for giving me the opportunity to realize my dreams. The program in sound and music recording allowed me to acquire the knowledge that I need to reach my goals and start my career in sound engineering. The teachers were so helpful, always encouraging us to go further in our work and progress as much as possible. I view my time at RAC as the best investment I’ve made in my life. Once I finished my studies at RAC, my teachers and the staff at RAC helped me greatly to find work. As I started looking for a job I quickly realized the excellent reputation of the college (RAC) gave me instant credibility with potential employers, and that was a big reason I got the job at CBC/Radio-Canada. Once I started working, I was able to demonstrate the technical competences I acquired at RAC, which has helped me secure my employment. I wouldn’t be where I am today without RAC.

What kind of music projects did you do before and after graduating from RAC.